The laws of the universe

“The possession of knowledge does not kill the sense of wonder and mystery. There is always more mystery.”
― Anaïs Nin
Jonah

The laws of the universe

Post by Jonah » Wed Feb 14, 2018 11:26 am

I'm brand new to philosophy... I mean, I've been thinking about philosophical kind of stuff all my life but I didn't realize until more recently that other people thought about these things. Anyway, the Paradox of Omnipotence throws up some more difficult questions...

It is understood that God cannot do anything that breaks the laws of logic, the laws of the universe... or, say, the laws of morality, right?

So do these laws just exist, or did God create them? If God created these laws, then presumably they are arbitrary. Could God have made a world where 2+2=5... Hmm, I'm not very good at explaining this yet because it's all new to me.

Maybe I'll come back to this when I'm more awake and in the meantime hopefully I've said enough to provoke a response.
“Without music, life would be a mistake.”
― Friedrich Nietzsche, Twilight of the Idols

Serendipper

Re: The laws of the universe

Post by Serendipper » Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:27 pm

Jonah wrote:
Wed Feb 14, 2018 11:26 am
I'm brand new to philosophy... I mean, I've been thinking about philosophical kind of stuff all my life but I didn't realize until more recently that other people thought about these things.
That's the best way to do it. You're not brand new to philosophy; you just think you are ;)
Anyway, the Paradox of Omnipotence throws up some more difficult questions...
I don't think there is any such thing as all-anything.
It is understood that God cannot do anything that breaks the laws of logic, the laws of the universe... or, say, the laws of morality, right?